23 USC 404 - National Highway Safety Advisory Committee

(1) There is established in the Department of Transportation a National Highway Safety Advisory Committee, composed of the Secretary or an officer of the Department appointed by him, the Federal Highway Administrator, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administrator, and thirty-five members appointed by the President, no more than four of whom shall be Federal officers or employees. The Secretary shall select the Chairman of the Committee from among the Committee members. The appointed members, having due regard for the purposes of this chapter, shall be selected from among representatives of various State and local governments, including State legislatures, of public and private interests contributing to, affected by, or concerned with highway safety, including the national organizations of passenger car, bus, and truck owners, and of other public and private agencies, organizations, or groups demonstrating an active interest in highway safety, as well as research scientists and other individuals who are expert in this field.
(A) Each member appointed by the President shall hold office for a term of three years, except that

view counter
(i)  any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall be appointed for the remainder of such term, and
(ii)  the terms of office of members first taking office after the date of enactment of this section shall expire as follows: Twelve at the end of one year after the date such committee members are appointed by the President, twelve at the end of two years after the date such committee members are appointed by the President, and eleven at the end of three years after the date such committee members are appointed, as designated by the President at the time of appointment, and
(iii)  the term of any member shall be extended until the date on which the successors appointment is effective. None of the members appointed by the President who has served a three-year term, other than Federal officers or employees, shall be eligible for reappointment within one year following the end of his preceding term.
(B) Members of the Committee who are not officers or employees of the United States shall, while attending meetings or conferences of such Committee or otherwise engaged in the business of such Committee, be entitled to receive compensation at a rate fixed by the Secretary, but not exceeding $100 per diem, including traveltime, and while away from their homes or regular places of business they may be allowed travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence, as authorized in section 5 of the Administrative Expenses Act of 1946 (5 U.S.C. 73b–2) for persons in the Government service employed intermittently. Payments under this section shall not render members of the Committee employees or officials of the United States for any purpose.
(b) The National Highway Safety Advisory Committee shall advise, consult with, and make recommendations to, the Secretary on matters relating to the activities and functions of the Department in the field of highway safety. The Committee is authorized
(1)  to review research projects or programs submitted to or recommended by it in the field of highway safety and recommend to the Secretary, for prosecution under this title, any such projects which it believes show promise of making valuable contributions to human knowledge with respect to the cause and prevention of highway accidents; and
(2)  to review, prior to issuance, standards proposed to be issued by order of the Secretary under the provisions of section 402 (a) of this title and to make recommendations thereon. Such recommendations shall be published in connection with the Secretarys determination or order.
(c) The National Highway Safety Advisory Committee shall meet from time to time as the Secretary shall direct, but at least once each year.
(d) The Secretary shall provide to the National Highway Safety Committee from among the personnel and facilities of the Department of Transportation such staff and facilities as are necessary to carry out the functions of such Committee.