30 USC 1802 - Establishment of National Critical Materials Council

There is hereby established a National Critical Materials Council (hereinafter referred to as the Council) under and reporting to the Executive Office of the President. The Council shall be composed of three members who shall be appointed by the President and who shall serve at the pleasure of the President. Members so appointed who are not already Senate-confirmed officers of the Government shall be appointed by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The President shall designate one of the members to serve as Chairman. Each member shall be a person who, as a result of training, experience, and achievement, is qualified to carry out the duties and functions of the Council, with particular emphasis placed on fields relating to materials policy or materials science and engineering. In addition, at least one of the members shall have a background in and understanding of environmentally related issues.